# eurowd12

## 18th European White Dwarf Workshop

## Kraków, Poland 13<sup>th</sup>–17<sup>th</sup> August 2012

We are pleased to announce the 18<sup>th</sup> European Workshop on White Dwarfs, to be held in the historical city of Kraków, Poland. This meeting will continue the series of workshops started in 1974, of which the last was in Tübingen, Germany in August 2010.

The topics to be covered at the conference will be similar to those of the previous meetings. Contributions in all areas of white dwarf (WD) research are welcome, including the properties of WDs in binaries, but excluding the general fields of CVs, sdB stars and planetary nebulae. We would like to maintain the spirit of previous conferences, thus allowing for oral contributions of around 20 minutes. Poster contributions are also welcome.

The workshop will also include a number of social events for the participants.

Please check the conference webpage

## http://www.as.up.krakow.pl/eurowd12

for further details and registration information.

#### **Topics**

White Dwarf structure and evolution

Progenitors and central stars of planetary nebulae

Binaries: White Dwarfs in CVs, double degenerates,

White Dwarf – Brown Dwarf systems

White Dwarf dust disks and planetary systems

Atmospheres, chemical composition, magnetic fields

**Pulsating White Dwarfs** 

White Dwarfs in stellar clusters and in the halo

White Dwarfs as SN Ia progenitors

### **Scientific Organizing Committee**

Martin Barstow United Kingdom

Pierre Bergeron Canada Enrique García-Berro Spain Scot Kleinman USA

Jurek Krzesiński (Chair) Poland Paweł Moskalik Poland Judi Provencal USA

Kepler Oliveira Brazil
Klaus Werner Germany

#### **Organising Institutions**



Astronomy Department
Pedagogical University of Cracow



Astronomical Observatory Jagiellonian University



N. Copernicus Astronomical Center Polish Academy of Sciences Jerzy Kreiner (Chair) Andrzej Baran Marek Dróżdż Jurek Krzesiński Waldemar Ogłoza Bartłomiej Pokrzywka Grzegorz Stachowski Bartłomiej Zakrzewski Stanisław Zoła

**Local Organizing Committee** 

Gérard Vauclair

Dorota Kozieł-Wierzbowska Tomasz Kundera Damian Jabłeka Agnieszka Kuzmicz

France

